Florida’s Business Community Celebrates the Election of GOP Co-Sponsors of the FCWA

Florida’s business community is celebrating today the election of lawmakers who supported LGBT non-discrimination legislation that would buoy our state’s reputation as a great place for economic investment.


On Tuesday Floridians voted to send Senator Anitere Flores, Senator-elect Dana D. Young, Senator Jack Latvala and Senator Travis Hutson to the Florida Senate in 2017. The four Republicans are co-sponsors of the Florida Competitive Workforce Act (HB33/SB156), bi-partisan legislation that promotes fairness and modernizes state law by adding sexual orientation and gender identity to the list of classes protected from discrimination.

In fact, today’s victory for co-sponsors of the FCWA reflects the results of a 2013 survey of likely voters, which showed 56 percent of Floridians would be more likely to vote for a lawmaker who supported adding sexual orientation and gender identity to Florida’s anti-discrimination laws.

Tuesday’s vote makes it clearer than ever that Floridians are firmly behind efforts to enact these protections that are so important to keeping our state’s economy vibrant and competitive. LGBT non-discrimination laws are key to our ability to draw the best and brightest workers as well as investment from some of the world’s largest companies—84-percent of whom have such protections on the books already.

Businesses are excited to continue to work side-by-side with a bipartisan coalition of legislators to pass non-discrimination protections that ensure Florida will continue to compete as one of the number 1 places to do business.